Soviet/Ukrainian lens MIR 26 B aperture stuck repair

IMG_4678_Front_1000_swIMG_4689_side_1000r_sw
When purchasing old used lenses I am always lucky to find well-oiled aperture blades. Over the years the oil will oxidize or polymerize which causes sticking of the thin metal blades due to capillary forces and friction.

There is just one solution: Unscrew the lens till the aperture. Take all collaborating parts out and submerge in alcohol. Most of the oil will be solved. Additional rubbing with a q-tip (?) helps this process. When everything is clean do not add new oil now. Just reassemble in reverse order and readjust diaphragm settings if needed.

When you have the above mentioned lens, follow these steps:

Remove the six screws from the back side of the aperture number ring and lift it

Remove the six screws from the back side of the depth of field ring and lift it

Push this little piece of brass, a part of the automatic aperture mechanic, inside

Push this little piece of brass, a part of the automatic aperture mechanic, inside

Unscrew the focus unit

Unscrew the focus unit

Pull it upwards

Pull it upwards

Remove the aperture adjustment, but before that mark, its position with a scratch

Remove the aperture adjustment, but before that mark, its position with a scratch

Unscrew the aperture number ring  Watch out for the tiny ball and spring

Unscrew the aperture number ring
Watch out for the tiny ball and spring

When lifting the cylinder with the upper lens attached, it reveals a lever an inner cylinder which was held in place by the shiny aperture adjustment you already tuck out

When lifting the cylinder with the upper lens attached, it reveals a lever plus an inner cylinder which was held in place by the shiny aperture adjustment you already tuck out

Slide the inner cylinder upwards and remove the lever and the plate underneath

Slide the inner cylinder upwards and remove the lever and the plate underneath

Submerge the aperture blades and all facing parts in alcohol (ethanol – methylated spirit)

Submerge the aperture blades and all facing parts in alcohol (ethanol – methylated spirit)

Get rid of all the residual oil with several q-tips  When the surface is clean a squeaking noise will be generated – ready to get back into the lens

Get rid of all the residual oil with several q-tips
When the surface is clean, a squeaking noise will be generated – ready to get back into the lens

Now reassemble all components and check if moveable parts do not stuck  Mind this tiny brass piece which pushes against the aperture lever  It needs to be aligned right as it establishes mechanic contact with the automatic aperture pin on the lens mount

Now reassemble all components and check if moveable parts do not stuck
Mind this tiny brass piece which pushes against the aperture lever
It needs to be aligned right as it establishes mechanic contact with the automatic aperture pin on the lens mount

Congratulation, you are finished and ready for shooting!   (c)langhans

Congratulation, you are finished and ready for shooting!

 

The entire process of opening the lens in a video:

(c)langhans 2014


7 thoughts on “Soviet/Ukrainian lens MIR 26 B aperture stuck repair

  1. Irgendwie komme ich nicht mit.
    Wie bekomme ich von Bild 6 den Tubus ab um zu Bild 7 zukommen?

    Like

    • Im Nachhinein ist das gar nicht mehr so leicht nachzuvollziehen. Die Konstruktion recht massiv.
      Entweder kommen unter dem Blendenring noch schrauben zum Vorschein, oder oben auf dem Tubus sind drei schrauben zu lösen; da sehe ich jedenfalls Schraubenlöscher. Ich könnte das objektiv normal auseinandernehmen, aber vielleicht schaffst du es auch so. Wenn ich dir sonst helfen kann, einfach wieder melden.
      Viel Erfolg weiterhin!

      Like

  2. Die 2 kleine Schrauben habe ich schon entfernt. Das bringt nix.
    Die oben auf dem Tubus sind die Löcher für die Schrauben die du auf Bild3 entfernst.
    Ich wäre dir sehr verbunden wenn du das Objektiv nochmals zerlegst.

    Danke und Gruß

    Like

    • Hallo, ich habs tatsächlich nochmal aufgeschraubt und gleich ein Video davon gemacht. Der Upload dauert aber im Moment zu lange.
      Die Lösung: Der Blendeneistellring wird mit der silbernen klammer mit einem inneren Tubus verbunden. Der muss abgeschraubt werden. Dann ist am äußeren Tubus ein kleiner Ring mit Innengewinde aufgeschraubt, er hat zwei Kerben, von denen eine im Bild 6 zu sehen ist. Hier einfach mit einem Schraubendreher gegen den Uhrzeigersinn drehen. Danach kann man den Blendenring nach oben ziehen, wodurch unten vier Schrauben sichtbar werden, die den Tubus halten, denn du noch nicht entfernen konntest.
      Jetzt weiter mit Bild 7 machen.
      Gruß, Chris

      Like

  3. Vielen Dank für deine Unterstützung! Du bist mein Held 🙂
    Jetzt funktioniert’s. Ich musste auch die Feder auf Bild7 etwas zurechtbiegen, da diese nicht genug Kraft aufbrachte um die Blende zu bedienen.

    Like

  4. Ich hätte noch eine Frage. Hast du deine Kiev mit den Flocking Kit von Araxfoto ausgestattet?
    Ich weis nämlich nicht wie ich die seitlichen Stücke einkleben muss.

    Like

    • Schön, dass es geklappt hat!

      Meine Kiev ist noch im Originalzustand, aber der Tuchverschluss läuft bei mir nicht zuverlässig. Wenn ich in die Kiev reinschaue, müssten die schwarzen Kleber am besten von der Rückseite aus auf die geriffelten Bleche geklebt werden. Sie haben ja etwa dieselbe Form.

      Ich hatte gehofft, dass durch den billigen Rubel auch die Preise für einen anderen Body fallen. Aufgeschraubt hatte ich meine schon, aber ich weiß nicht wo es genau hängt, mal sehen.

      Viel Spaß weiterhin!

      Like

Leave a Reply

